Reaction to Little Supergirl

I recently came across Worth1000, a creative contest site. It encourages artists and graphics designers to create something new by mashing up things that would normally be considered incompatible. For example, their Superhero ModRen contests call for artists to add superhero elements to classic paintings. The results vary from incongruous clash to subtle blend but most have something to say about how we perceive, categorize, and react to art. My reaction poem for today is inspired by the entry that most caught my eye–Little Supergirl by aards2.

Little Supergirl 

beautiful, why so far away

let me wrap you in an anchor to me

your original haunting innocence won’t sway

I can still see you through me

but your new choice gives us both a way

to an expectation of security

Leave a Reply

